SQMS Center

2023 SQMS Annual Meeting – Ecosystem Day Agenda

Monday, November 6 

Day 1 Meetings are held in two locations. The Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and the morning program will occur in the IARC Building. For those driving a personal vehicle, parking is available in adjacent IARC parking lots. Buses will transport attendees to Wilson Hall for lunch and the subsequent sessions in Ramsey Auditorium

Attendee List: SQMS Annual Meeting Attendee List.pdf

7:30-8:45 am – Arrivals and Coffee, IARC Building

8:45-9:50 am – Ribbon Cutting Ceremony of the Quantum Garage 

Video, Welcome, and Opening Remarks: 

  • Lia Merminga, FNAL Director 
  • DOE Undersecretary Dr. Geri Richmond 
  • IL Governor J.B. Pritzker 
  • U.S. Representative Bill Foster
  • Anna Grassellino, SQMS Director
  • Senior Leadership from SQMS Core Partner Institutions 

9:50-10:00 am – Ribbon Cutting of New Quantum Facilities 

(Garage seating will be limited due to space constraints. The ceremony will also be live-streamed in the adjacent IARC Auditorium.) 

10:00-11:00 am – Open House of Facilities 

Tours of SQMS & FNAL Technology Complex  

(Refreshments will be provided) 

11:00-12:00 pm – Roundtable with Leaders from Federal Labs, Industry, and AcademiaQuantum Information Science Initiatives at the Department of Energy


  • Geri Richmond (Under Secretary for Science and Innovation, DOE) 
  • Lia Merminga (Director, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • Kim Budil (Director, Lawrence Livermore National Lab) 
  • Adam Schwartz (Director, Ames National Lab)  
  • Moderator: Celia Merzbacher (Director, QED-C) 

11:00 – 12:00 p.m. – Roundtable with Leaders from DOE, Industry, and AcademiaCooperation across government, academia, and industry to advance QIS


  • Geri Richmond (Under Secretary for Science and Innovation, Department of Energy)
  • James Kushmerick (Director, Physical Measurement Laboratory, NIST)
  • Rupak Biswas (Director, Exploration Technology, NASA AMES)
  • Eric Perreault (VP Research, Northwestern University)
  • Jay Gambetta (VP, IBM Quantum)
  • Subodh Kulkarni (CEO, Rigetti Computing)
  • Moderator: Nadya Mason (Dean of Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago)

12:00-12:30 pm – First 3 Years of the DOE National Quantum Information Science Research Centers:

  • Anna Grassellino (Fermilab, SQMS)
  • Andrew Houck (Princeton University, C2QA)
  • Travis Humble (Oak Ridge National Lab, QSC)
  • Jens Koch (Northwestern University, SQMS & C2QA)

12:30-12:45 pm – Transportation to Wilson Hall  

12:45-1:55 pm – Lunch (Wilson Hall – 1st-floor seating area and 2nd-floor crossover) 

1:55-2:30 pm – Technology Keynote: Irfan Siddiqi (UC-Berkeley) 

The Art of Wiring Up Quantum Entanglement

2:30-3:30 pm – PanelSuperconducting Platforms: State-of-the-Art, Challenges, and Future Directions 


  • Andrew Bestwick (Rigetti) 
  • Matthias Steffen (IBM)
  • Andrew Cleland (University of Chicago)
  • Irfan Siddiqi (UC-Berkeley)
  • Andrew Houck (Princeton)

Moderators: Jens Koch (Northwestern University) and Eleanor Rieffel (NASA Ames) 

3:30-4:00 pm – Coffee Break 

4:00-4:30 pm – Physics Keynote: David Kaplan (Johns Hopkins) 

A Case for Testing the Fundamental Laws of Nature

4:30-5:35 pm – SQMS Activities and Research Highlights  

Alexander Romanenko (FNAL, SQMS technology thrust leader) – 10 min – Attacking the Decoherence Cross-Cutting Challenge  

SQMS Young Investigators’ Highlight Flash-Talks (5 min each): 

  • Dominic Goronzy (Northwestern University) – Loss Mechanisms and Mitigation Strategies for Hydrides in Niobium 
  • Ambra Mariani (INFN) – Mitigating the Impact of Ionizing Radiation in Superconducting Qubits 
  • Jinsu Oh (Ames National Lab) – Impact of Deposition Method on Structure and Performance of Nb/Si-based Superconducting Coplanar Waveguide Resonators 

Roni Harnik (FNAL, SQMS science thrust leader) – 10 min – New Physics Opportunities using Quantum Technologies 

SQMS Young Investigators’ Highlight Flash-Talks (5 min each): 

  • Anthony Brady (University of Arizona) – Entangled Sensor Networks for Dark Matter Searches 
  • Erik Gustafson (NASA) – Quantum Simulations of Many-Body Scars 

Silvia Zorzetti (FNAL, SQMS ecosystem thrust leader) – 10 min – SQMS Workforce Development and Ecosystem Highlights 

5:35-7:30 pm – Poster Session, Networking Reception and Awards Announcements 

All participants are invited to present  

Students’ and postdoctoral researchers’ posters will be judged for top poster awards. Dinner and drinks will be provided at the reception.